Located in the Fatih district of Istanbul , on Vatan Avenue, this building was constructed on a former early Roman graveyard; it was built in 907 during the reign of Emperor Leon VI on the orders of the Byzantine Admiral Konstantinos Lips. The building therefore is also known as Lips Monastery. One important architectural feature is that tha dome is surrounded by four chapels. Because of its unique architecturel style, many prestigious architectural schools offer courses about the plan of the building and its structural characteristics. Lips Monastery is unlike other Byzantine churches that were converted into mosques after the conquest of Istanbul. The Christians left the church around 1481- 1512, under the reign of Beyazid II. It is known to have been converted into a mosque under the regulations of “rejuvenation of the unused Byzantine churches.” It is known that at this time Fenari Ali Efendi of the ulema (religious scholars) converted it into a dervish lodge. In teh reign of Sultan Murad IV, Sheikh Isa al Mahvi intiated the use of the monastery rooms for secluded worship, a characteristic of the Khalwati Sufi order. Thus, the current name of the mosque is a combination of names Fenari and İsa.
This edifice has five apses. The reason why the cells were constructed close to one another , according to archeological evidence discovered during the restoration, was to prepare this place as the imperial graveyard. Some prominent figures from the Ottoman Era were buried here, such as the wife of Sultan Murad III, Shah- ı Hatun.
Inside the apses along the walls that have windows there are marble works, geometric designs and figures of peacocks. The original structure was built as a complex, but most of this has collapsed. The east part of the mosque was used as a madrasa during time of Yavuz Sultan Selim. The current Şadiye Hatun Medical Clinic is in the annex. The mosque is still open for public worship.